Tortoise

better-booksI want to be a tortoise. This is not because I hope to be really old and wrinkly one day, which I do, but because I want to slowly work at becoming the writer I want to be. Ok. That’s not true. I’m sorry. I really shouldn’t start this off by lying to you. The truth is, I’d rather quickly become the writer I want to be and just stay there, being awesome, accomplishing all my goals and having my only breakdowns be really glamorous ones. Like, for example, I cry while wearing a cashmere sweater, doubting in my abilities, Nico playing on the record player, and the entire New York skyline lit up behind me. Then the next day, I get a life changing phone call and Daniel, my love, and I go to Four Seasons to celebrate and drink martinis. That kind of breakdown.

But based on experience and less glamorous bouts of doubting, I don’t think that’s going to happen. So I’m trying to be practical, determined, steadfast. Slow and steady is what’s going to win this race. I’ll just write until I’m really old and wrinkly and see what happens along the way. In the meantime, I’d like to write about books here, both to practice writing and to share. The world should re-read Stuart Little and Dracula and I would like to be the person who says so.

Which brings me to an important point, something maybe you’d like to know before you get started: I rarely read new books. I hope that doesn’t deter you. It’s not that I have anything against new books. It’s just that there are so many good old books and buying new books makes me nervous. I sometimes have trouble committing to a library book so you can imagine how I feel about buying a brand new hardback. That is why you will not hear me talk about that new Jonathan Safran Foer book but you will hear me talk about All the Light We Cannot See. It’s pretty new. But not the latest and greatest.

So that’s what’s going to go on here: old books, writing, and other things too. Maybe this will occasionally turn into a pop up food blog or a scotch review site. Because whether it’s Fight Club or The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants it deserves to be discussed and discussions, we can all agree, go better with food. And scotch.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

